About Us

The Discipline of Optometry at UKZN is one of four optometry education and training programmes in the country.  The discipline offers the Bachelor of Optometry, Master of Optometry and Doctor of Optometry programmes.

The Discipline was established in 1980 and has grown to capacity since then. The Discipline commenced with 4 staff and 13 students. The first group of graduates comprised 4 optometrists. 

Changes in various policies e.g. health, education => allowed for growth and expansion of the programme. 

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved